Arisha Zaman
3 min readMay 1, 2020

Summer Vacation 2019

We have been to United Kingdom for our summer vacation in 2019. I was very excited to go to London because few of my family friends also was going to London at the same time. My mom was excited because she got to see her school friends. My dad was excited because he wanted to go watch World Cup cricket with his friends.

. We landed on Manchester, June 28, 2019. Then we rented a car and my dad drove us to my mom’s school friend’s house. I met Fatima for the first time. We played at their house for sometime. Then we drove to Edinburgh. We went to a mansion with 13 bedrooms. We stayed in the mansion for two days with some family friends. In the two days I made a new friend named Areen and Azene. We had lots of fun together. We played tag, hide’n seek, we even played with the other girls and boys. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner together.

One evening we saw another of my moms school friend. She had two daughters and one son. My mom bought four of the same dresses for me, my sister, and for them. My mom‘s friend bought the same dresses for me and my sister. After we had family fun we flew to London. Then we went to a hotel. The next day we went sightseeing. At the sightseeing we saw the Tower bridge, Westminster Abby, Buckingham palace, Big Ben, London Tower, and Jubilee Gardens. Do you also know that the clock tower (Big Ben) is named after mathematicians Benjamin Banneker. Big Ben’s real name right now is actually Elizabeth tower. In Westminster Abby we saw lots of famous people’s tombs. For example: Churchill, Charles Robert Darwin, Stephen Hawking, Queen Elizabeth I,and many more. We saw the biggest Kohinoor Diamond in the London Tower. We also saw lots of pictures, Queen Elizabeth I and II clothing, furniture, swords & shields, and the crown.

The next day my dad went to a cricket match with his friends. It’s a 10 hours so me, my mom, and my sister had a girls day out. We got ice cream, clothes, and lots more stuff. Even went on a Rikshaw. The next day we went to see my mom’s university friend and my mom’s aunt.

On July 7th we flew back to San Francisco. The trip was so cool and awesome. If you haven’t ever seen or been to London you should go there.

Arisha Zaman

Arisha is a 3rd grader. She wanted to start her own blog.