Arisha Zaman
5 min readJun 24, 2020

Friendship Never Goes Away

I came to Foothill Elementary school in first grade, a few weeks later I found out that there was a new student coming to my class and her name is Libby. After Libby introduced herself, my teacher said “Who will show Libby around?” I raised my hand and my teacher chose me to show. her around. At recess we became friends and we got to know each other a little better. I showed her what the rules are on the playground and the buddy bench and I showed her a few more things.

Libby, me & Victoria as Cook and Libby, me & Anya in 4th of July

We played with each other most of the time. Sometimes we don’t play with each other because we are mad at each other. At lunch recess (Lunch recess is playtime after lunch), I sometimes bring pinky. Pinky is my keychain. When I bring pinky, me and my friends, Libby, Anya, and Victoria we take turns hiding her. Whoever finds pinky first gets to hide her next. The times that we played with pinky was really fun.

We sometimes have the same choice. One day. I was sitting in art class, Libby also wanted to sit there too. So I moved somewhere else to sit and gave her the spot I was sitting in. I wanted her to make her happy. Sometimes I was annoyed by Libby too. I was annoyed one day with her because she asked too many questions that day. That time I was frustrated but now I’m not. One time I wanted to play with Libby and Libby wanted to only play with Anya. I was sad at that time but I played with Victoria.

This year I went to Math Kangaroo, which is a math club. Math Kangaroo starts at 7:30 am and ends at 8:30 am. I have to wake up at 6 every Wednesday just for Math Kangaroo but it’s worth it because Math Kangaroo is super fun. Even if I like Math Kangaroo, I was missing Libby. Libby was not there because she did not like the class. At least Anya was there with me.

Libby & me and Libby, me & Anya

Every year there was a fall family fun night at Foothill. At fall family fun night, the whole school is invited to the playground to play on the bounce house and bounce slide. It was really fun because I, Anya, and Libby went to a haunted house. The first room of the haunted house there was a skeleton that we didn’t even know about but it jumped right in front of us and we were scared. The next room was weird to me because it was filled. with fake eyeballs, fake hands, and fake mini graves but the weirdest thing is the fake hand holding a fake very small baby. The next room was a bunch of pictures of people we do not know. The last room was the scariest room for us because there was this person in this mask but the person was in the dark corner and we didn’t know that. I was scared of the person rocking back and forward in the room but Libby and Anya thought it was funny.

Many times I and Libby had playdates together. The ones at Libby’s house were very fun. I met her brothers. She has 2 brothers and a dog. Her brothers’ names are Raam and Oz. Her dog’s name was Jango. Her dog is half as tall as me. I like to pet Libby’s dog because we do not. have a pet. My mom is scared of dogs. So we can’t have a pet. We play at Libby’s. trampoline in her backyard then Raam always comes to annoy us. When Libby came to a playdate at our house, me, my sister Anisha, and Libby played hide n seek. We did rock painting in our backyard and we went on the swing and slide. We also had a few snacks together.

Last year I and Libby participated in our school musical and the theme was Frozen Jr. We had most of the same roles. Libby’s roles were Cook, Hidden Folk, Snow Chorus, Summer Chorus, and Townsperson. My roles were Oaken Family Member 1, Hidden Folk, Townsperson, Summer Chorus, and Snow Chorus. We had lots of fun in the play because Victoria, Anya, and many of my classmates were there too. When we knew that Libby was in Cast A and I was in Cast B, we were a little sad but we were happy to practice together. At the show, we had to dress up according to the character and we actually did makeup. We saw each other’s show. I loved her show and she did love mine.

Libby & Me

We knew each other for about 2½ years. Since we are stuck at home with coronavirus I can’t see her that often. She is now moving to Florida so I may not even see her. I know I will miss her so much becuase I have known her for a few. years even though it feels like I knew her for my whole life. I had so much fun with her so I would hate to see her go. I was really sad when I found out that she was going away but every single day I think Friendship Never Goes Away.

Arisha Zaman

Arisha is a 3rd grader. She wanted to start her own blog.